Sunday Sermon: ‘Breaking Free From the Bondage of Always Feeling Inferior’

Standard

audio

Have you ever struggled with feeling inferior or inadequate? I’m sure that many of us have. As children we struggle with the fact that we may not be as attractive as someone else, play a particular sport or make the same grades. As adults we struggle issues such as income, occupations or lifestyles.

I normally don’t put a whole lot of emphasis on the titles of my messages, but I have chosen this one very carefully. Always feeling inferior is a type of bondage. It is a trap that Satan uses to discourage us and to cause us to be less than God has created us to be. We know God doesn’t want us to be prideful, yet I also don’t believe that the Lord wants us to be constantly beating ourselves up and tearing ourselves down. I once read that if we begin to think that we have nothing to offer, we’ll live as though we have nothing to offer. We’ll waste the talents and abilities God has given us. A healthy self-esteem expresses itself with a confidence that says:

  • My life has a purpose
  • I belong here
  • I can love and be loved
  • I need others and they need me
  • I can be anything God wants me to be

A great example of a man who was held in the bondage of feeling inferior was Moses. Though even to this day Moses is considered by many to be one of the Bible’s greatest leaders, there was a time in his life when he had a very poor self-esteem. But as we will see today, the Lord helped him to break free of such bondage. The Lord helped a man who was hiding on the backside of the desert to become one of the greatest spiritual leaders of all time.

Exodus 3:1 Now Moses kept the flock of Jethro his father in law, the priest of Midian: and he led the flock to the backside of the desert, and came to the mountain of God, even to Horeb. 2 And the angel of the LORD appeared unto him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush: and he looked, and, behold, the bush burned with fire, and the bush was not consumed. 3 And Moses said, I will now turn aside, and see this great sight, why the bush is not burnt. 4 And when the LORD saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses.  And he said, Here am I. 5 And he said, Draw not nigh hither: put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground. 6 Moreover he said, I am the God of thy father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob. And Moses hid his face; for he was afraid to look upon God. 7  And the LORD said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows; 8 And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey; unto the place of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites. 9 Now therefore, behold, the cry of the children of Israel is come unto me: and I have also seen the oppression wherewith the Egyptians oppress them.

10 Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayest bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt. 11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

 

I.  Why Moses Struggled

“Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?” Moses questioned. Why did Moses struggle so much with being God’s chosen man? Let me suggest a couple of reasons.

A.  “I Tried and I Failed”

It had been forty years since Moses was last in Egypt and his departure then hadn’t been on good terms. We read in the previous chapter –

Exodus 2:11 And it came to pass in those days, when Moses was grown , that he went out unto his brethren, and looked on their burdens: and he spied an Egyptian smiting an Hebrew, one of his brethren. 12 And he looked this way and that way, and when he saw that there was no man, he slew the Egyptian, and hid him in the sand. 13 And when he went out the second day, behold, two men of the Hebrews strove together: and he said to him that did the wrong, Wherefore smitest thou thy fellow? 14 And he said, Who made thee a prince and a judge over us? intendest thou to kill me, as thou killedst the Egyptian? And Moses feared, and said, Surely this thing is known. 15 Now when Pharaoh heard this thing, he sought to slay Moses. But Moses fled from the face of Pharaoh, and dwelt in the land of Midian: and he sat down by a well.

Moses had already tried to deliver his people from Egyptian oppression and the result was that he was ridiculed by his own people and hated by Pharaoh. How could God possibly use him now?

Very few people are able to overcome a past failure. For many of us, once we try something and fail, that’s it. As far as we’re concerned, we’re never going to put ourselves in that kind of position again. Peter claimed that he would rather die than deny the Lord; yet we know that he did so not once, but three times. Afterwards Peter was so devastated about his failure that he withdrew himself from the rest of the disciples. If not for a personal challenge from the Lord Himself, Peter might not have ever been an active member of the early church. But Jesus was not content for Peter to succumb to failure. As Peter had denied the Lord three times, the Lord asked him three times – ‘Do you love Me?’. Each time Peter replied – ‘Lord, you know I do.’ ‘Then feed My sheep’, Jesus commanded. In other words – ‘Peter, there’s a lot to do, so let’s get over it and get busy.’

In contrast to Peter there is the failure of David. The Bible says that David was a man after God’s own heart and indeed he was. Yet David fell into sin. He committed adultery with another man’s wife and then had her husband murdered. A careful examination of scripture indicates that although the Lord forgave David, David never really forgave himself. This is most evident in how he acted as a father. Because David could not forgive himself, the man after God’s own heart raised some of the most sinful sons found in scripture.

B.  “I’m a Nobody”

There was a time when Moses thought that he had the ability to deliver his people. Now he doubted himself and his ability to do anything. The best he could do was to tend his father-in-law’s sheep. Forty years of beating himself up and tearing himself down caused him to respond to God – “Who am I, that I should do something like this?”  That’s a good question. Who was Moses? He was God’s chosen vessel.

It might surprise you to learn that God chooses and He uses ‘nobodies.’

1 Corinthians 1:26 For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called: 27 But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; 28 And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: 29 That no flesh should glory in his presence.

The church is made up of a bunch of nobodies. Why would Christ choose such people? He is doing so because He alone deserves to receive the glory. Paul writes that no flesh, or in other words – no human being, should glory in God’s presence. God alone is glorious.

In God’s kingdom, we have to become a nobody before Christ can make us into a somebody. We have to be stripped of our own personal strength so that we can learn to depend upon the sufficiency of God’s grace.

II. How Can We Break Free From the Bondage of Always Feeling Inadequate?

Always feeling inadequate or inferior can become a form of spiritual bondage. It can keep us from becoming who God has created us to be. Some of you have struggled with this your whole life. Even now, as adults, you are hesitant to get involved because you think – “I can’t.” You can’t, but God can through you.

A. Focus on God’s Presence

Exodus 3:11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

Moses was focusing upon his own abilities or lack of them. Who am I to do this? I’m not worthy. I tried and I failed. Yet what the Lord wanted Moses to understand was that it was not about him or his ability. It was about God using Him in order to accomplish God’s will. Moses was guaranteed success and I can tell you why.

Exodus 3:7 And the LORD said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows; 8 And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians…

12 And he said, Certainly I will be with thee…

Imagine that from this moment on, Christ would be right beside you every minute of the day. Wherever you went, Christ would be there with you. Back in the 1600’s, there was a man named Lawrence who wanted to have a closer walk with God and so he joined a monastery. But Lawrence wasn’t as educated or talented as all the rest. He was a nobody and so they assigned him duties in the kitchen. At first Lawrence was discouraged, but then he decided to spend every moment of every day concentrating on God’s presence being with him. He talked to God throughout the day. The result was, Lawrence experienced deepness in his relationship with God that none of the other men ever knew. A book was written about him entitled – “The Practice of the Presence of God” which has become a classic. Here is a quote –

“There is not in the world a kind of life more sweet and delightful, than that of a continual conversation with God.”  

Christ has promised us His presence –

Lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world.    Mt 28:20

There shall not any man be able to stand before thee all the days of thy life: as I was with Moses, so I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.  Josh 1:5

I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you. Jn 14:18

B. Focus on God’s Power

Moses’ second excuse was – “I’m not qualified. I don’t have the experience to do something like this. For the past forty years all I have been doing is tending my father-in-law’s sheep.”

Exodus 3:13 And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? What shall I say unto them? 14 And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

There is no actual English equivalent to this Hebrew name. Sometimes it is written as Yahweh. Other times it is translated as Jehovah. God’s name is so sacred that the Jews feared mispronouncing it so that substituted the name Adonai or LORD in its place in their writings.

What does the name I AM THAT I AM mean? Simply stated it means – ‘The self-existing One.’ It describes the God who is, who has always been, and who will always be.

Exodus 3:15 And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, The LORD God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

“…this (Name) is my memorial unto all generations”  The ‘ALL IN ALL’  will always be our  ‘ALL IN ALL.’

C. Focus on God’s Purpose

Exodus 3:7 And the LORD said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows; 8 And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey;

Many of you are familiar with Henry Blackaby’s, Experiencing God. The cover of his study booklet has a painting of Moses facing the burning bush. In his study Blackaby tells us that God has a plan and is always at work. He then reveals Himself and His plan to us and invites us to join Him in His plan. At that moment we face what Blackaby calls a ‘Crisis of Belief.’ The Crisis of Belief is the moment when we have to choose whether or not we are going to submit our will to God’s and join Him in His eternal plan. God told Moses – “This is My plan: I have heard the cries of My people and I have come down to deliver them. The way I am going to deliver them is by sending you. You’re going to bring them out and lead them to the land I have already promised.” This is My eternal plan and purpose. We read from scripture –

Isaiah 46:10 Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure:

Philippians 2:12  … work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. 13 For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.

D. Focus on God’s Provision

Exodus 4:1 And Moses answered and said, But, behold, they will not believe me, nor hearken unto my voice: for they will say, The LORD hath not appeared unto thee. 2 And the LORD said unto him, What is that in thine hand? And he said, A rod. 3 And he said, Cast it on the ground. And he cast it on the ground, and it became a serpent; and Moses fled from before it. 4 And the LORD said unto Moses, Put forth thine hand, and take it by the tail. And he put forth his hand, and caught it, and it became a rod in his hand:

Moses couldn’t understand how God could use a nobody. Yet through Moses’ staff the Lord showed that a God who can turn a stick into a snake can use anyone or anything.

Exodus 4:10 And Moses said unto the LORD, O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.

“Lord, I’m not able.” The truth is – no one is able. I’m not able. You’re not able. Moses was not able. Yet consider this portion of scripture –

2 Corinthians 3:5 Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think anything as of ourselves; but our sufficiency is of God…

Moses said – “I’m not eloquent. I can’t speak in front of others.” The Lord said –

Exodus 4:11 And the LORD said unto him, Who hath made man’s mouth? or who maketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the LORD? 12 Now therefore go , and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say .

Conclusion

The feeling of always being inferior or inadequate can become a form of bondage. It can also become a trap when we begin to use it as an excuse for hiding and not getting involved.

Christ came to set the captives free. By His grace, He can deliver us from every form of bondage; even the bondage of always feeling inferior.

Will you allow God to deliver you? Will you begin to say – “I can’t but You can.” If you do you will become like the Apostle Paul who wrote –

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
Philippians 4:13

Comments are closed.