Devotional: ‘Jehovah is Still God’    

Standard

Many years ago, there was a young woman by the name of Gladys who desired to be a missionary to China. Though her motives were pure and her desire was worthy, she received little encouragement from her friends or family. Yet Gladys persevered and after many years or hard work and sacrifice, she raised enough money to pay her own way to China and begin her life as a missionary.

The years Gladys served in China were not easy and over time the various hardships began to wear her down. On one occasion, it became necessary for her to lead a group of orphans over a range of mountains in order to find shelter and safety. After many days and toilsome nights, Gladys found herself in total despair. Just then a little thirteen-year-old girl spoke up and reminded her of the story of Moses leading the children of Israel through the wilderness. “But I’m not Moses!” Gladys cried back. “Of course you’re not”, the girl said, “but Jehovah is still God.” What a blessed truth!

“And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?  And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” (Exodus 3:13-14)

So often the challenges of life seem larger than our ability to handle them. Yet the strength to do God’s will does not come from us, but from Him. Much like Gladys, we might at times be tempted to think, “We’re not Moses!”; yet Moses probably thought, “I’m not Abraham!” and Abraham probably thought, “I’m not Noah!”, and Noah probably thought, “I’m not Enoch!” and on and on it goes. There has never been anyone who could do it on their own. Every single person has had to lean on God.

What impossible task has God set before you today? Perhaps you’re ready to cry out, “But I’m not Gladys!” and someone might say, “Of course you’re not, but Jehovah is still God.” The same God who helped a single woman lead a group of orphans across treacherous mountains can help us to do whatever needs to be done.

Comments are closed.