Devotional: ‘Tell Them That Jesus Loves Them’    

Standard

Every Sunday afternoon, a Pastor and his 11-year-old son went into their village and handed out gospel tracts. But on one particular Sunday afternoon, it was cold and pouring down rain. Shortly after lunch the son came to the dad and said, “Okay, I’m ready.” His dad asked, “Ready for what?” The son replied, “Dad, it’s time to go out and tell people about Jesus.” “Son, it’s too cold today, and besides, it’s raining” the dad said. Yet the boy would not be discouraged. “Dad, can I go by myself?” After a few moments of hesitation, the dad finally agreed to allow his son to go out for a short while.

Up and down the streets the boy went from house to house, handing out his gospel tracts. Finally, he was down to his last one. Who could he give it to? Then he saw a house that he had not yet visited. He rang the doorbell, but no one answered. He rang it again, but still no answer. Apparently, no one was home. But something told the boy to not give up. He rang the bell once again and added to it the pounding of his fist. Finally, after several minutes, an elderly lady slowly opened the door and asked the boy what he wanted.  “I just wanted to tell you that Jesus really does love you!” And with that he gave her the tract and left.

The next Sunday as the boy’s dad got up to preach, the pastor felt led to ask if there was anyone who had something special to say. At the back of the church an elderly woman stood up and said, “Up until last Sunday I didn’t believe that there was a God, and if there was, surely He didn’t love me. I had decided to end my life. But just as I was about to do so, my doorbell rang. At first I ignored it, but it kept ringing and ringing, and then someone started beating on my door. Something told me to answer the door and when I did, I saw a little boy standing there, drenched from head to food, but smiling from ear to ear. I don’t remember everything he said, but this I do remember. He told me that Jesus really does love me and then he gave me this to read. The address of this church was on the back of it and that’s why I’m here today.”

Recently I read that story and it really touched me. I don’t know if it’s true or even if it is, that it happened just the way I told it. But it gives me something to think about. How persistent am I in sharing the gospel?  How often do I go the extra mile in order to tell someone that Jesus really does love them?

In closing, consider these words from the Apostle Paul –

“Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade men. What we are is plain to God, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience. If we are out of our mind, it is for the sake of God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.” (2 Corinthians 5 NIV)

Comments are closed.