Devotional: ‘The TITLE DEED to My Life’ 

Standard

On my desk I have an envelope addressed to “Christ.” Inside that envelope is a letter from myself to Jesus. In many ways, I consider the content of that letter to be the TITLE DEED to my life.

Several years ago, I remember a Sunday night when the Holy Spirit used the pastor’s sermon to speak directly to me. I don’t remember all that the pastor said, but I do remember the passage of scripture he used:

“Have you never heard?  Have you never understood? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding.  He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion. But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:28-31 NLT)

During the sermon, the Holy Spirit questioned me about my faith in God. “When are you going to fully trust God with your life?” He asked. I thought that I had, but He revealed to me that I hadn’t. I had only trusted God to take care of my sins. I still needed to trust Him to take care of my successes.

After wrestling with the issue throughout that night, I finally came to the conclusion that God should be in complete control of every area of my life. The next morning, I sat down and wrote out the TITLE DEED to my life. I included in this deed all of my sins as well all of my successes. I included my health, my wealth, my family and my future. I came to the conclusion that day that if Jesus was willing to receive the worst of me, surely, I should be willing to allow Him to receive also the best.

I won’t say that I haven’t been tempted along the way to retake control; but whenever I am, I remind myself of that letter. Because of that, I firmly believe that God is in control of my future. If my future contains good, then that is His decision. If my future contains bad, then that is His decision as well. My job is no longer to dictate the events of my life. My job is to live each day as best I can for His glory.

I can honestly say that coming to this conclusion has been one of the most liberating experiences of my life. I leave you with these words from an old gospel song:

I don’t know about tomorrow
I just live from day to day
And I don’t borrow from its sunshine
For its skies may turn to gray
And I don’t worry about my future
For I know what Jesus said
And today He walks beside me
For He knows what lies ahead
 

Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand

Words by Ira Stanphill

Comments are closed.