Devotional: ‘The Christian and Their Friends’    

Standard

“My eyes will be on the faithful in the land that they may dwell with me; he whose walk is blameless will minister to me.” (Ps 101:6 NIV)

Recently I received an email from a longtime friend. What is so special about this friend is that I always know that he will be focused upon the Lord. Why are Christian friendships so important?

We Need Them for Spiritual Support

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: if one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!” (Ecclesiastes 4:9-10)

No one is spiritually strong all of the time. There are days when each of us feels defeated and vulnerable to certain kinds of temptation. Yet a godly friend can be a source of strength and support during such difficult times. If we fall down, that friend can help pick us back up.

We Need Them for Accountability

Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results.”  (James 5:16)

Each of us needs a few close friends with whom we can share our sins and struggles. Proverbs 27:6 says, “Wounds from a sincere friend are better than many kisses from an enemy.” Each of us needs someone who can correct us whenever we are going astray.

We Need Them as Examples

I often find great encouragement from conversations with Christian friends. Though they may not realize it, their simple words of faith and commitment can give me great strength. When I hear them speak about their walk with the Lord, it inspires me to continue on. Sometimes to just hear them say something as simple as, “I trust God” can help change my whole outlook on life.

PS –

 Even as I am writing this devotional, the Christian friend I spoke of earlier contacted me to let me know that his son is preparing to enter into the ministry!  God is good!!

Comments are closed.