Devotional: ‘The Christian and Their Music’  

Standard

“I will sing of your love and justice; to you, O LORD, I will sing praise.” (Ps 101:1)

It is not always easy to establish a Christian home. Shortly after Tammy and I were married, we began to examine various areas of our life. One of the first issues God led us to address was our music.

Like most people, we grew up listening to the world’s music. Though not all of the songs we listened to were bad, many of them were, and over time we began to question whether or not this was the kind of music we wanted in our home.

 

About the same time some of our friends started introducing us to Christian music. The more we listened to the Christian music, the less we wanted to listen to non-Christian music. Eventually we came to the decision that the music we wanted in our home was music that would honor Christ and help us live for Him.

In Psalm 101, David lists a number of important – “I wills…”

I will be careful to lead a blameless life…

I will walk in my house with blameless heart…

I will sing of your love and justice; to you, O LORD, I will sing praise

Music is very powerful. It is one of the most influential forces in our lives. Music can either lift us up or tear us down. It can give us energy or cause us to relax. Music can promote godliness or godlessness. Music can lead us to Christ or away from Christ.

I must confess that many types of music appeal to me. Yet I have learned the value of what the Apostle Paul wrote to the Corinthians-

“Everything is permissible”– but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible”– but not everything is constructive.” (1 Corinthians 10:23)

The question we need to ask ourselves is not – “Do I like it?”, but “Does it help me to live a Christ-honoring life?” Much of the worlds’ music may be permissible, but is it beneficial? Much of the worlds’ music may be acceptable, but is it constructive?

Comments are closed.