Devotional: ‘Prone to Wander’  

Standard

Back in the 1700’s, there was a twenty-two-year-old Methodist pastor by the name of Robert Robinson who wrote a hymn called, Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing. Perhaps some of you are familiar with it.

“Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise.

Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount! I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of Thy redeeming love.”

For the most part, I never gave too much thought to that hymn, except for one particular portion; it’s the fourth verse.

“O to grace how great a debtor,
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.”

There is a story that says one day as Robert Robinson was riding in a stagecoach, a lady was humming the melody of this hymn. She then asked him what he thought of the song, to which he responded, “Madam, I am the poor unhappy man who wrote that hymn many years ago, and I would give a thousand worlds, if I had them, to enjoy the feelings I had then.” If that account is true, Robert Robinson did wander away from the faith and he lived a miserable life for doing so.

“Gently encourage the stragglers, and reach out for the exhausted, pulling them to their feet. Be patient with each person, attentive to individual needs. And be careful that when you get on each other’s nerves you don’t snap at each other. Look for the best in each other, and always do your best to bring it out.” (1 Thessalonians 5:14-15 The Message)

  

Comments are closed.