Devotional: ‘God Has Provided For Us a Redeemer’  

Standard

At the beginning of the book of Ruth, we see Naomi as a woman consumed with bitterness. “Don’t call me Naomi,” she said to those who greeted her. “Call me Mara, because the Almighty has made my life very bitter.” (Ruth 1:20)

If you had been God, how would you have reacted to Naomi’s unkind words? I’m sure that some of us would have been tempted to zap her. Perhaps we would have thought, “If that’s the way you want it – fine! Spend the rest of your life living in bitterness. You go your way and I’ll go mine and we’ll see who wins in the end.” Many of us might have thought that way, but God didn’t. Even while Naomi was lashing out at God, God was loving her.

Naomi took the baby and cuddled him to her breast. And she cared for him as if he were her own. The neighbor women said, “Now at last Naomi has a son again!” (Ruth 4:16-17)

There was a time when many of us were much like Naomi. We were enslaved in hopelessness and there was no way for us to escape. The Bible says that we were hostile in our minds towards God and had no desire to love Him. We read from the book of Colossians – “Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior.” (Colossians 1:21) Romans 5:10 says that “we were God’s enemies.”

Yet God was not content to leave us that way. The Bible says – “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8) Even while we were sinning against God, He was preparing a plan to save us.

If you have never experienced the joy of God’s forgiveness, I encourage you to do so today. The Bible teaches us that God loves us. Jesus said, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16) God loves you and He wants to bless you. In order to do so, God has provided for us a Redeemer. Jesus said that God loved us so much that He sent His one and only Son to this world to be our Savior. Will you receive God’s love today? If so, pray this prayer with me –

“Dear God, forgive me of my sins. Forgive me for resisting You. I believe that You love me and that You demonstrated Your love by sending Your Son, Jesus, to die on the cross in my place. I receive Jesus Christ today as my Savior and I ask you to help me live the rest of my life for You.” Amen

If you have prayed that prayer, please contact me: pastorterry@twinoaksbapt.org

Comments are closed.