Devotional: ‘Jesus Can Help Me, Jesus Alone’     

Standard

Has anxiety ever caused you to spend a restless night? It has for me more than once. Scripture teaches us that there is only one effective way to manage our anxiety. Rather than letting our problems overcome us with worry, we should cast all of our cares upon the Lord. Peter tells us – “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

One day a pastor was visiting a struggling member of his congregation. The woman was weighed down with her worries and during the visit she cried: “Oh, what shall I do?  I don’t know what to do!” The pastor shared several verses of scripture with her, trying to give her comfort. Suddenly her countenance changed and she said, “I must tell Jesus!” On his way home that night, the words of the woman came to the pastor’s mind and he wrote this song.

I Must Tell Jesus by Elisha Hoffman
I must tell Jesus all of my trials,
I cannot bear these burdens alone;
In my distress He kindly will help me,
He ever loves and cares for His own. 

I must tell Jesus all of my troubles,
He is a kind, compassionate Friend;
If I but ask Him He will deliver,
Make of my troubles quickly an end.

I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
I cannot bear my burdens alone;
I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
Jesus can help me, Jesus alone. 

The Amplified Version of the Bible translates 1 Peter 5:7 as: “Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully.” (underline emphasis added)

Bring all of your cares to Jesus and turn them over to Him – once and for all.

Comments are closed.