Devotional: ‘Praise be to My Rock!’

Standard

Everyday someone somewhere builds a sandcastle. Some sandcastles are nothing more than an upturned bucket of sand, while others are elaborate and almost unbelievable. Yet regardless of how much time or talent is used to build the sandcastle, all sandcastles are temporary. As soon as the tide comes in, sandcastles are washed away.

Adults know that sandcastles are temporal, but what many do not know is that life is as well. James tells us that our life is little more than a morning mist; a flower that blooms for only a moment and then eventually wilts away. (see James 1:11; 4:14)

Therefore, for us to seek security in the things of this life is only setting ourselves up for some major disappointment. Sooner or later the tide of time is going to come in and we can no more control what happens than a child can control a wave. In those times of desperation we need something that is solid and secure. Consider these words of David.

The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.  The LORD lives!  Praise be to my Rock!  (Psalm 18:42, 46)

Here are some reasons why David declared God to be his Rock:

God’s Rock-solid Attributes

David knew that God will never for one moment cease to be anything other than all-powerful, all-knowing, everywhere present. God is God and that will never change.

God’s Rock-solid Authority  

Though the world was attacking David, he knew that God was ultimately in control. “The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer. The Lord is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold!” (Psalm 18:2)

God’s Rock-solid Affection

As I read Psalm 18, I count no less than 99 personal pronouns. David did not say that the Lord is ‘a’ rock. He declared that God is ‘my Rock!’

Perhaps there is very little stability in your life right now. May I encourage you that you go to the Rock for your strength and security. God is sure and steadfast. He is a shield and salvation. He is our strength and our stronghold. God is everything you or I will ever need.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.
All other ground is sinking sand.

Comments are closed.