Devotional: ‘The Blessings of a Well-Marked Bible’

Standard

“I rejoice in following your statutes as one rejoices in great riches. I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways. I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.”  (Psalm 119:14-16)

I remember an afternoon many years ago when I received an unexpected blessing. No, it was not a check in the mail or even a pat on the back. It was the opportunity to look through a well-marked Bible. Let me explain.


It was the Bible of a dear friend and it bore the witness of the many hours they had spent there. There were some passages that were highlighted and others that were underlined. Notes were written along the sides and dates were listed recording the times when they heard their pastor preach a message from that particular passage. There was hardly a place where they had not made some type of indication of the blessing they had received. I remember that as I looked through their Bible, my heart was thrilled. Though they apologized for its condition, to me it was a priceless treasure.

Often I use a Bible that looks somewhat similar as I prepare my messages and devotionals. It is one that I have had since the time I was in college. Just a few moments of scanning through its pages and I am once again reminded of the blessings that I have received from God’s Word down through the years. Some people are opposed to marking a Bible and I would certainly never criticize anyone for reverencing God’s Word. However, I have often heard that if we ‘mark our Bible; our Bible will mark us.’ Marking for the sake of marking is useless. But leaving records of the revelation we have received can bless us every time we review them.

For my friend, the Word of God was their bread when they were hungry and their water when they were thirsty. It was their light when they were in darkness and their sword when they needed deliverance. It was their comfort when they were grieving and their friend when they were lonely. It gave them peace when they were anxious and hope when they were discouraged. It was their skilled surgeon when they were spiritually sick and their balm when they needed soothing. It was their roadmap that guided them they followed along the pathway towards Christlikeness.

I encourage you to have some way of recording the blessings and special revelations God gives you as you grow in the Lord. Someday you may return to those records and be blessed again. Someday someone else may come across your records and be blessed as well!

 

 

Comments are closed.