Devotional: ‘Ready to Take a Risk’

Standard

Years ago a famous tightrope walker was entertaining the crowds by walking back and forth across a rope stretched between two skyscrapers. With each crossing the man became a little more daring and the crowd a little more enthused. Finally he brought out a wheelbarrow and asked how many believed that he could roll the wheelbarrow across the rope with someone sitting in it. Almost everyone eagerly raised their hand in agreement. Then he asked for a volunteer.

“During the fourth watch of the night Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear. But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” “Come,” Jesus said.”  (Matthew 14:25-29)

For many of us it is easy to trust Christ for something as great as salvation, but difficult to trust Him for something as simple as providing our daily bread. Our songs and sermons are often filled with enthusiastic exclamations of how Christ is our Lord and that we will gladly give up everything for Him; but then when He asks for something, we’re often like the crowd who slowly lowered their hand.

Daily I seek the Spirit to lead me as I write these devotionals and today He has stopped me dead in my tracks. The Spirit is asking me, “Are you willing to get into the wheelbarrow and trust Jesus?” If I truly believe that He can give me eternal life, why shouldn’t I believe that He can guide me through this temporary life?

“’Lord, if it’s you,’ Peter replied, ‘tell me to come to you on the water.’ ‘Come,’ Jesus said.  Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.”

Are you ready to take a risk and walk on the water?

Comments are closed.