Devotional: ‘Let the Peace of God Guide You’

Standard

“And let the peace of God rule in your hearts …” (Colossians 3:15)

Picture a football game where there was no one to referee. Even when there are several men in funny looking shirts trying to keep things in order, it often appears that many games are out of control. Imagine what it would be like if there was no one to enforce the rules? No doubt the team with the biggest bullies would control the game.

Like a football game, every day we are battling for the control of our heart and mind. Often our greatest opponent is not the world or even the devil, but instead our own emotions. Like a team full of bullies, our emotions often try to overrun us and take control.

For example, a difficulty arises and fear shouts out – “Give me the ball, this is now my game!” For a moment we may be tempted to give into fear and let it rule us, that is until the referee says, “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” (2 Timothy 1:7)

A few moments later, anxiety and depression team up against us and despair tries to grab our attention and force us to fumble. Again it seems like our emotions are going to rule us, that is until the referee says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Php 4:6-7) Play by play, situation by situation, if we let the peace of God referee our lives, we can successfully make our way through every difficult situation and in the end march across the goal line.

Isaiah 26:3 tells us, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” In closing I leave you with some verses that will help God’s peace to control your lives.

______________________________________________________________________________________

Psalms 34:17 The righteous cry, and the LORD heareth, and delivereth them out of all their troubles.

Psalm 50:15 Call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.

Psalm 103:17 But the mercy of the LORD is from everlasting to everlasting upon them that fear him, and his righteousness unto children’s children…

Psalm 23:4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Psalm 27:1 The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Comments are closed.