Devotional: ‘I Being in the Way, the LORD Led Me’

Standard

“…I being in the way, the LORD led me…” (Gen 24:27)

At some point in every believer’s life there is a question concerning God’s will. Often these questions involve everything from marriage to major purchases. How can we know the will of God?

Fortunately, much of God’s will can be known though prayer, the Word of God, and the counsel of Christian friends. Yet there are times when none of these seem to give us the answers we need. What do we do when we don’t know what to do?

There is another very important principle found in scripture that is often overlooked. Paul wrote to the Corinthians that “it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful.” (1 Cor 4:2)  One of the best ways of discovering the parts of God’s will that we do not know is by faithfully doing the parts of His will that we do know. Let me illustrate.

Abraham became concerned about who would become the wife of his son, Isaac. His fear was that his son might marry a woman of Canaan. He called for his servant, Eliezer, and commanded him to travel back to Abraham’s homeland and to find a wife for his son from among his relatives. Eliezer was fearful that he would not be able to accomplish what his master desired, but Abraham encouraged him with these words-

“The LORD, the God of heaven, who brought me out of my father’s household and my native land and who spoke to me and promised me on oath, saying, ‘To your offspring I will give this land’– he will send his angel before you so that you can get a wife for my son from there.  (Gen 24:7)

Sometimes God reveals so much of His will that it is overwhelming. Other times He reveals so little of His will that it is unnerving. But always He reveals the amount of His will that is sufficient. As Eliezer was faithful to do what he knew to do, God continued to go before him, opening doors that would allow him to take the next step. To his amazement, Eliezer found himself at a well the very moment a young woman named Rebekah came to fetch water. As the story turns out, Rebekah was the one God had chosen to become Isaac’s wife.

“And the man bowed down his head, and worshipped the LORD. And he said, Blessed be the LORD God of my master Abraham, who hath not left destitute my master of his mercy and his truth: I being in the way, the LORD led me to the house of my master’s brethren.” (Gen 24:26-27)

There are some people who do very little for God, exempting themselves because of a lack of opportunity and talent. But such excuses will not stand up before God. The important question is not – “what opportunities has God given you?” but, “what are you doing with the opportunities He has given you?” Notice what Eliezer said, “I being in the way, the LORD led me.” In other words, “As I was faithful to do what I knew to do, God revealed to me the next step.”

 

 

Comments are closed.