Devotional: ‘The Renewing of Our Minds’

Standard

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is– his good, pleasing and perfect will.” (Romans 12:2)

There is not a day that goes by that our spiritual mind does not need to be renewed. Though it may seem as though some days Satan’s attacks are stronger than others, we need God’s strength and power every day.


The word ‘renew’ has two important meanings:

Restoration. The psalmist wrote, “He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” (Psalm 23:4) Prayer, Bible study and Christian music are all important to our spiritual well-being.

Completion. None of us have arrived. We’re all on a journey. Even the Apostle Paul confessed – “I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection.” Paul had not arrived, yet Paul was not going to quit. “But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me.” (Philippians 3:12 NLT) Paul set his sights on becoming the person God created him to be. In order for him to become that person, he needed a daily spiritual renewal.

How do we find spiritual renewal each day?  Let me make some suggestions.

1) Develop an Intimate Relationship With God. Once again we read from the psalms, “You have searched me, Lord, and you know me… you perceive my thoughts from afar… You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.” (Psalm 139:1-3) God wants us to live our life as an open book before Him.

2) Fill Your Mind with His truth. Don’t let negative and sinful thoughts control you. Paul tells us to – “Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure…” (Philippians 4:8)

3) Allow the Holy Spirit to Change You. From today’s opening passage we read – “be transformed by the renewing of our mind…” The word transformed means to be changed from one form into another.

Thank you for spending some time this day in God’s Word. I encourage you to take a few moments and read Philippians 2:1-16.

Comments are closed.