Devotional: ‘Thy Face Will I Seek’

Standard

“When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek.”  (Psalm 27:8  KJV)

The Bible teaches us that no one can look into the face of God and live. (see Exodus 33:20) God is too glorious and too holy for sinful man to be able to behold His glory. Why then does God encourage David to seek His face?

From the rest of this psalm we can see that seeking God’s face involves at least three things: 

1) It Involves Seeking God’s Presence

“One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.”  (Psalm 27:4)

The temple David sought was much more than the tabernacle at Jerusalem. To dwell in the house of the LORD meant that he would seek to live with a constant awareness of God’s presence. David’s desire was that his mind would ever be on the LORD; therefore the LORD’S face would ever be before him.

2) It Involves Seeking God’s Praise

“And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD.”  (Psalm 27:6)

Though David could not bear to see the full manifestation of God’s glory, he still desired to give God glory.

3) It Involves Seeking God’s Pathway

“Teach me thy way, O LORD, and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies.”  (Psalm 27:11)

The LORD bless thee, and keep thee:
The LORD make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee:
The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.
Numbers 6:24-26

Comments are closed.