Devotional: ‘You Can Always Talk to God’

Standard

Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.  (Psalm 55:22)

Have you ever had a best friend, someone so close that they knew almost everything there was about you? I remember one such friend back in high school. It seems that there was nothing that the two of us could not talk about. But as time moved on and we graduated from school, our friendship slowly faded away.

In addition to my friendship with Mike, the Lord has also given me many other close friends throughout my life. I am fortunate that I have a good relationship with my wife and that we can share much about ourselves with each other. Yet there are some parts of my life that are so deep and personal, I have a hard time expressing them to anyone. But thanks be unto God, there is someone who knows everything there is to know about me and He cares for me. I believe that I can honestly say that my greatest friend in life is God.

The psalmist said –

Psalm 139:1 O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. 2 You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away. 3 You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do. 4 You know what I am going to say even before I say it, Lord. 5 You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand!

God knows my strengths and my weaknesses. He sees everything I do and He hears every word I say. According to Christ, God even knows the number of hairs on my head. (see Matthew 10:30) Why God would want to know all this I am not sure; yet I am thankful that He does. Even more so, I am thankful that even though He knows about all of my junk, He doesn’t reject me. Even with His thorough knowledge of my sin, God still invites me to come to Him and find forgiveness.

We read from scripture –

1 John 1:8 If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. 9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Aren’t you glad to know that regardless of what our need may be, we can always talk to God about it?

Comments are closed.