Devotional: ‘Angels and the Answers to Our Prayers’

Standard

Daniel 10:4 On the twenty-fourth day of the first month, as I was standing on the bank of the great river (that is, the Tigris) 5 I lifted up my eyes and looked, and behold, a man clothed in linen, with a belt of fine gold from Uphaz around his waist. 6 His body was like beryl, his face like the appearance of lightning, his eyes like flaming torches, his arms and legs like the gleam of burnished bronze, and the sound of his words like the sound of a multitude. 7 And I, Daniel, alone saw the vision, for the men who were with me did not see the vision, but a great trembling fell upon them, and they fled to hide themselves. 8 So I was left alone and saw this great vision, and no strength was left in me. My radiant appearance was fearfully changed, and I retained no strength. 9 Then I heard the sound of his words, and as I heard the sound of his words, I fell on my face in deep sleep with my face to the ground.

During Daniel’s time of prayer and fasting, the Lord responded to him in an amazing way. One day Daniel looked up and saw an angel. So awesome was this sight that it caused Daniel to fall to the ground in a deep sleep. Yet the Lord had not sent the angel to frighten Daniel, but instead to give him God’s answers to his prayers.

“Fear not, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand and humbled yourself before your God, your words have been heard, and I have come because of your words.” (Daniel 10:12)

Daniel fasted and prayed for three weeks and the Lord responded by sending him an angel.

We should note that the actual appearance of angels has always been rare, even during biblical times. At the same time we should note that the Bible tells us that angels are –  ‘ministering spirits sent out to serve those who are the heirs of salvation.’ (see Hebrews 1:14) Though we may not be able to see angels with our physical eyes, they are most likely all around us. They are God’s servants sent to minister to God’s saints.

Apparently one of the areas where God’s angels help us is in our prayers. Such a thought encourages me. Too often I view myself as being all alone when I am praying. It’s as though I am here on earth and God is a million miles away. Yet scripture teaches us that angels are with me and help me in every facet of my spiritual walk. In closing, I leave you with this passage of scripture concerning the prayer life of the Lord Jesus.

Luke 22:42 “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” 43 An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. 44 And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.

Notice that in verse 43 it says that an angel appeared to strengthen Him. We know that this passage is speaking specifically of Jesus, yet perhaps God sends His angels to strengthen us as well. Surely the Lord knows that we need all the help we can get.

Comments are closed.