Devotional: ‘Christ in the Crisis’

Standard

Daniel 3:19 Then Nebuchadnezzar was furious with Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, and his attitude toward them changed. He ordered the furnace heated seven times hotter than usual 20 and commanded some of the strongest soldiers in his army to tie up Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego and throw them into the blazing furnace. 21 So these men, wearing their robes, trousers, turbans and other clothes, were bound and thrown into the blazing furnace. 22The king’s command was so urgent and the furnace so hot that the flames of the fire killed the soldiers who took up Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, 23 and these three men, firmly tied, fell into the blazing furnace. 24 Then King Nebuchadnezzar leaped to his feet in amazement and asked his advisers, “Weren’t there three men that we tied up and threw into the fire?” They replied, “Certainly, Your Majesty.” 25 He said, “Look! I see four men walking around in the fire, unbound and unharmed, and the fourth looks like a son of the gods.” 

Whenever we as the children of God face a crisis, we should always look for Jesus. Scripture says that as King Nebuchadnezzar gazed into the furnace, he saw not three men but four. “Look! I see four men walking around in the fire, unbound and unharmed, and the fourth looks like a son of the gods.” Glowing above the white-hot heat of the furnace was the Son of God. Standing in the midst of the flames was our Savior. Christ had not abandoned these young men. He had not left them to face the flames alone. Jesus was right there with them!

Perhaps you may feel as though you are in a fiery furnace. The flames are all around you, and you can hear the enemy’s taunt – ‘what god is able to save you out of my hand?’ Is there a God who can save us? Is there a God who will save us? Will Jesus be with us when we are in the furnace? The Bible says –

Isaiah 43:2 When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee. 3 For I am the LORD thy God… 

As I write this, my mind goes back a number of years to a godly lady Tammy and I knew in Ohio. She was someone who truly loved the Lord and often she said things to encourage me. One day she told us that she had cancer. I’ll never forget the last time we say Mary just before her death. The disease had taken such a toll on her body that we could barely recognized her. Yet she was still praising Jesus. As we got ready to leave that day I told her, “You have greatly encouraged me by showing me that God will be with us all the way.” 

God bless you, my brethren.

Comments are closed.