Devotional: ‘God is Able’

Standard

Daniel 2:26 The king asked Daniel (also called Belteshazzar), “Are you able to tell me what I saw in my dream and interpret it?” 27 Daniel replied, “No wise man, enchanter, magician or diviner can explain to the king the mystery he has asked about, 28 but there is a God in heaven …”

There is a question that you and I will be asked over and over again throughout life and there is only one right answer. 

THE QUESTION: ‘Are You Able?’

That was the question the king asked the wise men of Babylon as well as Daniel and his three friends.  ‘Are you able to tell me what I dreamed and what that dream means?’

Though we might never be asked to interpret someone’s dream, each of us will be asked whether or not we are able to do a variety of things. As a pastor I have been asked – “Are you able to bring comfort to my broken heart? Are you able to solve my problems? Are you able to give me guidance when the future is unclear? Are you able to restore my health? Are you able to perform a miracle?”

THE RIGHT ANSWER: ‘I can’t, but there is a God in heaven who can.’’

The sorcerers of Babylon tried to pretend that they were able to solve the king’s problem, even though they weren’t. But Daniel replied, “No human is able to do what you are asking, but there is a God in heaven who can.” That’s the right answer to life’s difficult questions. ‘There is a God in heaven who can.’

Daniel immediately went to prayer and here is what he said –

“Praise be to the name of God for ever and ever; wisdom and power are his. He changes times and seasons; he sets up kings and deposes them. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the discerning. He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in darkness, and light dwells with him.  I thank and praise you, O God of my fathers: You have given me wisdom and power, you have made known to me what we asked of you, you have made known to us the dream of the king.”  (Dan 2:20-23)

The question we will be asked over and over again through life is, ‘Are you able?’  The answer we must always be ready to give is, ‘I can’t, but God can.’ In closing, consider these words of praise from the Apostle Paul –

Now to him who is able to do
immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine,
according to his power that is at work within us,
to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus
throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen
Ephesians 3:20-21

Comments are closed.