Devotional: ‘Jesus Can Help Me, Jesus Alone’

Standard

Scripture says that King Nebuchadnezzar had a very unusual dream that troubled him in his spirit.

Quickly he summons all of the magicians and astrologers of Babylon and commanded them to tell him the meaning of his dream. “O king, live forever: tell thy servants the dream, and we will shew the interpretation” the wise men said to him. “I can’t” the king replied. “I don’t remember what the dream was. But if you will not tell me what my dream was or what it meant, I will have you cut into pieces and your homes destroyed!” (see Daniel 2:4-5)

The magicians and astrologers tried to reason with the king. “Oh king, it’s impossible for us to interpret the dream without knowing what it was. No one but a god could do such a thing.” The Bible says that in response to their words, the king became very angry and “…ordered the execution of all the wise men of Babylon.” (see Daniel 2:10-12)

“All the wise men of Babylon…” included Daniel and his three friends. Their lives were in jeopardy as much as the astrologers and magicians. But rather than panic, Daniel did what every believer should do.  The Bible says that Daniel prayed.

“Then Daniel returned to his house and explained the matter to his friends Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah. He urged them to plead for mercy from the God of heaven concerning this mystery, so that he and his friends might not be executed with the rest of the wise men of Babylon. During the night the mystery was revealed to Daniel in a vision. Then Daniel praised the God of heaven…”  (Daniel 2:17-19)

Many years a wonderful hymn was written entitled, ‘I Must Tell Jesus’ (Elisha A. Hoffman, 1893)

I must tell Jesus all of my trials;
I cannot bear these burdens alone;
In my distress He kindly will help me;
He ever loves and cares for His own.

I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
I cannot bear my burdens alone;
I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
Jesus can help me, Jesus alone.

‘Jesus can help me, Jesus alone.’ That is true my dear friend and therefore, whatever the situation is, we must tell Jesus!

Comments are closed.