Devotional: ‘God Will Take Care of Our Every Need’

Standard

“And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 4:19) 

Over the years I have met certain Christians who felt that they couldn’t afford to give to God’s work.  But according to Paul – we can’t afford not to give. Consider what he wrote to the Philippians –

“Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid again and again when I was in need.” 

“Not that I am looking for a gift, but I am looking for what may be credited to your account.  I have received full payment and even more; I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God.” 

“And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 4:14-19)

The Philippians had been very generous in their giving to the Apostle Paul; they not only supplied for his needs, but they also brought blessings to themselves and God.

Their giving brought blessings to Paul

Paul was a tent-maker by trade and whenever he had opportunity, he labored as such in order to provide not only for his personal needs, but the needs of his fellow-laborers as well. (Acts 18:3; 20:34-35)  But the work of Christ took much of his time and therefore it was often necessary for others to help support him. The Philippians recognized this need and on several occasions they sent him gifts. Through their generous giving, Paul’s needs were met.

Their giving brought blessings to God

Paul referred to their giving as a ‘fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God.’  Paul tells us in 2 Corinthians 9:7 that ‘God loves a cheerful giver.’ Whenever we give with the right attitude, God is blessed.

Their giving brought blessings to themselves

“…my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” With no thought of return, the Philippians gave sacrificially in order to help meet the need of God’s servant. Yet in return, God supplied all of their needs.

“No one has ever become poor by giving”
(Anne Frank)  

Comments are closed.