Devotional: ‘Where is Home?

Standard

‘But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.’  (Philippians 3:20-21) 

Having been raised in another part of the country and moving to this area, periodically someone will ask me if I feel like this is my home. If I would be completely honest, I would have to say ‘yes’ and ‘no.’ Yes, I am happy to live here, but no this is not really my home. Where is my home?

Sometimes I ask myself, “If I could live anywhere in the world I wanted to live, where would it be?” Would it be here in Virginia where I was raised? or back in Ohio where we still have lots of friends? or maybe with our girls and their families in Tennessee? Where would I choose to live? How about Florida where Tammy and I always go on vacation? Hey, if we’re dreaming – what about Hawaii? The more I think about it, the more I realize that there is nowhere on this planet that I could find complete contentment and satisfaction and call it my true home. As the old song says, ‘This World is Not My Home.’

This world is not my home, I’m just-a-passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
(Words and music by Albert E. Brumley)

The writer of the book of Hebrews tells us that those who live by faith are ‘strangers and pilgrims on this earth.’  (Hebrews 11:13) That is not to say that we have no care for this life, or that we are grateful for our family and friends. We do love our family and enjoy being with our friends. But as children of God, we will never experience the fullness of peace, joy, and happiness until we are with our Savior. Paul wrote –

1 Thessalonians 4:16 For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. 17 After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. 18 Therefore encourage one another with these words.

“And so will we be with the Lord forever.” I am sure you are like me, I can hardly wait to go home.

 

Comments are closed.