Devotional: ‘Protecting Us From Spiritual Spyware’

Standard

WARNING!  SATAN MAY BE TRYING TO DOWNLOAD DANGEROUS SPIRITUAL SPYWARE INTO YOUR LIFE!

1 Peter 5:8 Be sober-minded and alert. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. 9 Resist him, standing firm in your faith… BSB 

I remember the day when I noticed that my laptop was getting slower and slower and unwanted advertisements were suddenly beginning to appear on my screen. Somehow I had unknowingly downloaded what is commonly referred to as ‘spyware.’

For those of you who aren’t familiar with this term, spyware is a type of invasive computer software that is secretly downloaded onto your computer without your permission. The purpose of spyware ranges from tracking our activity on the internet to stealing important personal data such as passwords, banking information or items of our personal identity. Spyware is not only annoying, it is also dangerous.

To counter spyware, protective software known as ‘anti-spyware’ and ‘anti-virus’ has been developed. Once installed on your computer, these anti-softwares monitor your system in order to detect any unrecognized activity and to block invasive spyware from being downloaded in the first place.

Peter warns us – “Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.” Just like spyware that attacks our computers in order to reap havoc, Satan often attacks our hearts and minds in order to do us spiritual harm. Sometimes his attacks are open and blatant, but other times they are secretive and unnoticed until we are in trouble. Without even realizing that is happening, one day we find ourselves becoming cold and indifferent toward the things of God. We stop praying, stop reading our Bibles, and maybe even stop attending church. In addition, we find ourselves struggling with sins such as pride, jealousy, lust or anger. We ask ourselves, “How did this happen? When did this happen? How did I get here?” Scripture says that Satan stalked us until he found the prime opportunity to download his poison into our spirit.

The first time I ran anti-spyware on my computer, hundreds of spyware programs were detected. As soon as I saw them, I began to remove them as quickly as possible. I also loaded on my computer software that could help monitor my system and protect me. The same should be true for us spiritually. Our spiritual enemy is real and active; therefore, we should not pretend that he doesn’t exist. The Bible says – “How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Your word…Your word I have treasured in my heart, that I may not sin against You.” (Psalm 119:9, 11)

 

Comments are closed.