Devotional: ‘Lord, Make Me Bold!’

Standard

Do you sometimes struggle with sharing your faith with others? I know that I do and I’m not exactly sure why. Maybe these are some of the reasons:

We don’t want to make people feel uncomfortable. Often when we bring up the subject of salvation, there is a sense of uneasiness that fills the air. Scripture says that ‘light has come into the world, but people love darkness instead of light.’ [1] People do not want to talk about their sin; therefore, a conversation about the need of salvation is never easy.

Maybe we’re afraid of being asked a question we won’t be able to answer. The fear of being asked a difficult question frightens many; therefore, rather than running the risk of being embarrassed, we find it much easier to remain silent.

Still others are afraid of being ridiculed or rejected.  Jesus said, “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first.” (John 15:18 NIV) No one wants to be hated or opposed. No one wants to be attacked. Therefore, many of us find it easier to just keep our faith to ourselves.

There are lots of reasons why we might be afraid to share our faith; however, we must find a way to overcome our fears or otherwise our friends and family may never come to Christ. The Bible says – “How can they believe in him if they have never heard about him? And how can they hear about him unless someone tells them?” [2] If no one ever talks about Jesus, no one is going to be saved. So what can we do? Consider how Paul approached the problem of fear.

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.  Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should. (Ephesians 6:18-20)

Paul experienced fear as well, yet he knew how to overcome his fear. What was his secret?  P-R-A-Y-E-R!  Fear can be defeated through the power of prayer. My experience has been that the more I pray for boldness, the bolder I become. Therefore, let’s begin this day with the simple prayer – “Lord, make me bold!”

[1] John 3:19

[2] Romans 10:14

Comments are closed.