Devotional: ‘How to Have a Good Day’ pt 3’

Standard

Colossians 3:16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. 17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. ESV 

This week we have been considering some of the various aspects of our Christian character. Paul tells us that as followers of Jesus Christ, we should be known for our love, kindness, gentleness and humility. As we have studied, we have seen how these qualities can help us have a good day – every day. We conclude our study this week by considering the importance of praise.

Praise

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.” (vs. 16)

I start almost every day with a quiet time of Bible study. Often I spend this time in God’s Word even before I pray. Although I pray for God’s guidance in my study, sometimes it takes me a while to develop the kind of spirit that will encourage me to pray about my life and my needs. Sometimes God’s Word first has to take the edge off of me.

As I study scripture I am reminded of truth. As I ponder this truth, the Spirit begins to speak to me and to help me see where I need to change. It is at this point that I can then begin to pray. I pray not only for the needs in my life, I pray also for the Spirit to help me conform to the truth He has taught me. As I pray, my attitude changes even more. Once again the old nature is put off and the new nature is put on. And as a result of this, I am often filled with the kind of joy that causes me to rejoice and sing.

As we close this week’s study, take a moment and prayerfully read through our passage once again.

Colossians 3:8 But now you must also rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. 9 Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices 10 and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator… 12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. 15 Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. 16 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. 17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. NIV

Comments are closed.