Devotional: ‘The Title of the Book is – LOVE’

Standard

If you had to choose one word that would best describe the Christian life, what word would you choose?  For me I would choose the word ‘virtue.’ The Christian life should be a life full of virtue. What is virtue? Virtue means: moral excellence, goodness and righteousness. [1]

Though many people do not believe in Jesus Christ as their Savior, they do believe that He lived a virtuous life. I don’t think that I have ever heard anyone suggest that Christ was not kind and caring. Therefore, as His followers, they expect us to be so as well. According to scripture, they have good reason to do so.

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.  Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.  Colossians 3:12-13 

In addition to these moral attributes, Paul also included the virtue of love. “And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” (Colossians 3:14) Someone has said that if we comprised a book containing all the virtues that comes along with being a Christian, written across the front of that book would be the word – LOVE.

Concerning the importance of Christlike love, the Apostle Paul wrote – “I may speak in the languages of humans and of angels. But if I don’t have love, I am a loud gong or a clashing cymbal. I may have the gift to speak what God has revealed, and I may understand all mysteries and have all knowledge. I may even have enough faith to move mountains. But if I don’t have love, I am nothing. I may even give away all that I have and give up my body to be burned. But if I don’t have love, none of these things will help me.” [2] 

Paul also told us what Christlike love looks like –

“Love is patient. Love is kind. Love isn’t jealous. It doesn’t sing its own praises. It isn’t arrogant. It isn’t rude. It doesn’t think about itself. It isn’t irritable. It doesn’t keep track of wrongs. It isn’t happy when injustice is done, but it is happy with the truth. Love never stops being patient, never stops believing, never stops hoping, never gives up.” [3] 

Think how refreshing Christlike love could be in a world that is filled with so much hatred and violence.

“Love is patient. Love is kind… it isn’t irritable… it never stops believing, never stops hoping, and it never gives up.”

[1] http://www.dictionary.com/browse/virtue?s=t

[2] 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

[3] 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Comments are closed.