Devotional: ‘Developing Maturity Through the Study of God’s Word’

Standard

This week I have tried to share with you some of the principles that I am using to develop spiritual maturity. These principles include:

Following the Example of Those Who Have Gone Before Us     (Monday’s devotional)

Walking With God in Our Younger Years     (Tuesday’s devotional)

The Process of Trials and Trusting      (Wednesday’s devotional)

As we have seen this week, maturing as a believer doesn’t always happen automatically on its own. Gray hair and wrinkles do not guarantee that we are becoming more mature. It takes years of listening, learning, and living in order to help us become the people God wants us to be. Today I would like to share with you another principle that I use in my quest for maturity.

The Importance of God’s Word 

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2 NIV 

Paul refers to being ‘transformed by the renewing of our mind.’ Spiritual maturity occurs from the inside-out and it is brought about through careful study of God’s Word and application of what it says. There must be a conscious effort on our part to be changed by it. We must be as James says, ‘Doers of the Word and not hearers only.’ [1] 

Here’s something that I have done through the years to help me be transform by God’s Word. As I read a portion of scripture,  I write down any biblical principle the Spirit reveals to me. Then, after I have completed my study, I go back and pray over what I have learned, seeking to apply it to my life.

I close today with some words from Paul concerning his quest to become spiritually mature.

Philippians 3:12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me… 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. 15 All of us, then, who are mature should take such a view of things.

[1] James 1:22

Comments are closed.