‘Growing Wiser as We Grow Older’

Standard

Isaiah 46:4 Even to your old age, I shall be the same, and even to your graying years I shall bear you! I have done it, and I shall carry you; and I shall bear you, and I shall deliver you. 

Yesterday I shared with you that one of my primary goals in life is to become more mature. I want to advance not only in my knowledge of spiritual things, but also in my practice thereof. During this week’s devotionals I hope to share with you some of the principles I am using in my quest.

Following the Example of Those Who Have Gone Before Us   (yesterday’s devotional)

Proverbs 13:20 tells us, ‘He who walks with the wise grows wise, but a companion of fools suffers harm.’  A great way to develop maturity is to listen to those who are mature.

Walking with God During Our Younger Years 

I sometimes get upset with myself whenever I see that I am not displaying wisdom. There are times when I say or do something that afterwards I regret. I fail a lot along the way, but I am determined to keep seeking wisdom with the hope that one day I will become spiritually mature.

The Bible teaches us that we ‘gain’ wisdom and maturity. It is not something that comes upon us all at once; it’s a part of a lifelong process of growth and development.

Solomon wrote:

“Let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance…” (Proverbs 1:5) 

“My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding— indeed, if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God. For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.” (Proverbs 2:1-6)

Notice the process that must take place in order for us to gain wisdom and maturity.

It begins with a hunger to learn and grow

It develops through an ear that is attuned to what wisdom has to say

It matures with the application of what it is being taught

Will there ever be a time when we have learned all that wisdom had to teach us? I doubt it. As long as we are living, we will need to learn and mature.

 

Comments are closed.