Devotional: ‘Men Ought Always to Pray and Not to Faint’

Standard

And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint; saying, There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man: and there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary.  And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, Though I fear not God, nor regard man; yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.  And the Lord said, Hear what the unjust judge saith.  And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them?  I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth? Luke 18:1-8 

I will never forget a night when I was called upon to join a family as they earnestly sought the Lord in prayer. It was not one of those times when we “kind of pray.” It was a moment, or perhaps I should say – several hours – when we cried out to God. As we prayed to the Lord over the need, we prayed in such a way as to make sure that the Lord “found faith upon the earth.” 

As we prayed, I noticed that several things began to happen. First of all, many of us started coming clean with the Lord. There is no sin worth holding on to when you desperately need God’s help. I was the first to pray and ask for God’s forgiveness and the others followed after me.

Secondly, many of us were broken. No one in the group was too proud or too busy to bow their knee before God and pray with humility. As we prayed, hot tears began to flow down our faces.

Thirdly, it was a time of praise. Over and over again God was lifted high in our prayers and we openly declared that there was no power in heaven or on earth that was greater than God’s. God and God alone had the power we needed.

And lastly, it was a time of peace. Before we began to pray, one of the family members mentioned that they didn’t even feel like praying. They were too upset. But as the prayer service started, I saw that person’s spirit change and instead of turmoil, there was triumph! Their prayers began with pain and ended with peace.

If you are struggling today over some issue, let me encourage you to pray. Jesus said – “Shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto Him?”

 

 

Comments are closed.