Devotional: ‘Regardless of My Circumstances, I Will Not Be Afraid’

Standard

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. (Psalm 46:1-3)

How could anyone not be in fear when their world is falling apart? How could they not be distressed when the waters around them are churning with difficulty? It’s not reasonable to think that someone could find peace when there seems to be nothing but pain. Yet that is exactly how David felt. David said – “We will not fear, even though we are in the midst of trouble.” How was David able to come to this conclusion? Did he know something that we need to know?

Notice how David begins this wonderful Psalm – “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1) David could be at peace because he knew that God was with him.

As I write this, I think about the time when David faced the giant named Goliath. I love what David said when King Saul questioned him about his courage.

1 Samuel 17:34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, 35 I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. 36 Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God. 37 The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.”

Notice that David said, “The same God who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.” In other words, “I am not afraid because God is my refuge and strength. He is always with me to help me.”

Perhaps today you are facing some type of trouble. Maybe at this very moment you are in the midst of a terrible storm. Let me encourage you to not be afraid, but rather to trust in God and His promise to always be with you.

Comments are closed.