Devotional: ‘God is My Shepherd’

Standard

Psalm 23:1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. 3 He restores my soul…ESV  No one knows for sure when David wrote this psalm. Some suppose that he wrote it while he was still a shepherd boy out tending his father’s sheep. Others think that he wrote it after he became a man and reflected upon his life. Either way, the words are beautiful and perhaps the most well-known portion of scripture. Note three things David tells us:

God is My Loving Shepherd

David himself had been a shepherd who had taken care of sheep. Therefore, he understood how weak and defenseless sheep can be and how much they need someone to watch over them.

God is our Shepherd. In Psalm 100 we read – “It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.” [1] By referring to us as His sheep, God is expressing His tender love for us.

God is My Devoted Shepherd

God not only has a tender love for His sheep, He also has a deep devotion. Consider these words from Jesus –

“I am the good shepherd who is willing to lay down his life for the sheep. He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd, who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. He flees because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep. I am the good shepherd… and I lay down my life for the sheep.” [2]

Unlike a hired-hand who shepherds only for personal gain, God has promised that He will never leave us nor forsake us. [3] Paul tells us that “neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” [4]

God is My Sustaining Shepherd

He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul…”

By referring to us as His sheep, God is acknowledging our needs and His willingness to provide. Jesus said – “The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out … he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.” [5]

How thankful I am that God is my Shepherd. Who else could I trust? Only He can give me the words of life. [6]

[1] Psalm 100:3

[2] John 10:11-15

[3] Hebrews 13:5

[4] Romans 8:38-39

[5] John 10:3-5

[6] John 6:68

Comments are closed.