Devotional: ‘I Live by Trusting in Christ’

Standard

Galatians 2:20 …I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. NLT There was a time in the Apostle Paul’s life when he tried to earn his way to heaven. Before he became a Christian, he was a Jewish Pharisee and according to his personal testimony, he did everything he could to live a blameless life. [1]

Yet Paul wasn’t blameless. He, like the rest of us, sinned and failed God. After he became a Christian he wrote – Romans 3:10 As the Scriptures say, “No one is righteous—not even one. 11 No one is truly wise; no one is seeking God. 12 All have turned away; all have become useless. No one does good, not a single one.” NLT  Even the most religious people in the world aren’t righteous enough to deserve heaven. Scripture says that – “everyone has sinned” and “fallen short of God’s glorious standard.” [2]

After Paul became a Christian he wrote – “I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith.” [3] Paul’s life changed the day he met Jesus. No longer was he someone who was trying to earn favor with God; instead he became a man who put his complete trust in Jesus.

Paul not only trusted Christ to save him from his sins, he also trusted Christ to keep him safe. In another New Testament letter Paul wrote – “for I know the one in whom I trust, and I am sure that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until the day of his return.” [4] Paul trusted Christ to save him, to keep him safe, and to help him live life. “… I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” [5]

Whether it’s our salvation, our security as a believer, or the strength to live each day, – it’s all about our faith in Christ.

[1] Philippians 3:6

[2] Romans 3:23

[3] Philippians 3:9

[4] 2 Timothy 1:12

[5] Philippians 4:12-13

Comments are closed.