Devotional: ‘Whom Have I in Heaven But You?’

Standard

Psalm 73:25 Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. 26 My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. ESV

Throughout my life I have had many good people in whom I have put my trust. As I was growing up, my parents were always a constant source of strength and encouragement for me. Throughout our years of marriage, Tammy has been a faithful confidant and companion. I have also had many good Christian friends and spiritual leaders. Yet I must realize that all of these individuals are only human. They are not infallible. They are not able to bear the weight of all of my burdens. Though God has used them to help me along the way, my primary source of strength is my Savior. As the psalmist said, “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” (Ps 27:1)

Asaph was a man who learned to put his trust in God. Not a lot is known about him other than that he was one of David’s three chief musicians and that scripture calls him a ‘seer.’ (see 2 Chron 29:30) (A seer was someone similar to a prophet who received prophetic visions through the power of the Holy Spirit.) We see also in scripture that Asaph penned Psalm 50, 73, and 83. That being the case, we can say that Asaph must have been a great man of God.

Psalm 73 is one of his psalms. In it He shares with us some of his journey of following God. In verse 2 Asaph tells us about a time when he became very discouraged. “But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled, my steps had nearly slipped. For I was envious of the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.” Like some of us do from time to time, Asaph allowed his eyes to fall away from God and to focus his problems. As Asaph looked at the world around him, he could not understand why the wicked seemed to prosper while the righteous had to suffer.

But then Asaph was reminded of that wonderful truth that can pull us out of the pit. God is our constant source of strength and encouragement. He will never leave us nor forsake us. And He is our glorious inheritance.

Perhaps today you are feeling a bit discouraged over some troubling situation. Even though you may have tried to share your problem with a close friend, it seems as though no one really understands. Yet there is one who does understand and who cares very deeply. Jesus said that God is aware of every sparrow that falls from the sky and that He keeps a constant record of every detail of our lives. (see Matthew 10:29-31) Therefore, we should not be discourage. Instead we should find great hope in knowing that God is with us and that He will help us.

Comments are closed.