Devotional: ‘God is All I Need’

Standard

 

Lamentations 3:1 I am the man who has seen affliction under the rod of his wrath; 2 he has driven and brought me into darkness without any light; 3 surely against me he turns his hand again and again the whole day long. ESV

After the wife of C. S. Lewis died of cancer, the author found himself struggling not only with the loss, but also with trying to understand the ways of God. Lewis found consolation through writing out his thoughts in a journal which was later published as – A Grief Observed. “How often — will it be for always? — How often will the vast emptiness astonish me like a complete novelty and make me say, ‘I never realized my loss till this moment’? The same leg is cut off time after time.” Though there were seasons when Lewis’ pain was overwhelming, he eventually found the comfort he sought for.

The prophet Jeremiah was experiencing a similar kind of grief. The nation of Israel was being punished for their sins and the sight of their suffering brought Jeremiah great sorrow. (Lamentations means sorrow or mourning). In addition to the suffering of the people, there was also Jeremiah’s personal suffering as well. Though he had done everything he could to be God’s man before the people, they rejected both him and his message. There was a time when Jeremiah was the laughingstock of Israel. 

Perhaps you are also someone who is suffering. Maybe your sorrow is for a loved one or a close friend who is hurting, or maybe your sorrow is due to some issue in your own life. Whatever the reason for your sadness, allow me to encourage you with these words from Jeremiah.

Lamentations 3:21 This I recall to my mind, Therefore I have hope. 22 Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not. 23 They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. 24 “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I hope in Him!” 25 The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, To the soul who seeks Him. NKJV

God is Merciful

Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not.”

God is Faithful

“Great is Your faithfulness.”

 God is Sufficient

“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I hope in Him!”

 God is Good

“The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, To the soul who seeks Him.”

Comments are closed.