Devotional: ‘King Jesus’

Standard

As a pastor, I wish that I had the power to meet every need anyone will ever have.  I wish that the sick could come to me and be healed.  I wish that I could mend every broken heart and answer every question asked.  I wish that I could do whatever it would take to make everything better, but I can’t.

Though Daniel was a great man of God, he was no stranger to trouble.  At a very early age he was taken from his homeland and thrown into the midst of a foreign culture.  His three closest friends, (Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego) were cast into a fiery furnace and he himself spent a night in a den of hungry lions.  In addition, there was the hatred and spitefulness of his peers and mockery over his faith in God.

Then one night Daniel received a vision from God concerning the kingdoms of this earth and many of the events of the latter days. (See Daniel 7)

“In my vision at night I looked, and there before me was one like a son of man, coming with the clouds of heaven. He approached the Ancient of Days and was led into his presence.  He was given authority, glory and sovereign power; all peoples, nations and men of every language worshiped him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that will not pass away, and his kingdom is one that will never be destroyed.”  (Dan 7:13-14)

Hundreds of years before Christ’s birth, Daniel received a vision of a day when Jesus would set up a kingdom of righteousness, power and glory. Christ’s kingdom will be an everlasting kingdom that shall never be destroyed.

Many years ago, Tammy and I had a pastor to who use to begin each service by walking up to the pulpit, raising his hands and declaring – Hail King Jesus! King Jesus is not a title that we often use, but perhaps we should.  One day King Jesus will take the throne and our every enemy will be destroyed.  Whether it is the heart that needs to be mended, or the body that needs to be healed; when King Jesus takes the throne, every need will be met!  Even so, come, King Jesus!

Comments are closed.