Devotional: ‘Above All Else – Guard Your Heart’

Standard

Many of you are familiar with the words – ‘firewall’ and ‘spyware.’ You know that both of these speak of specially designed programs that can help protect our computers from hackers that would love to steal personal information or cause us great damage. It’s an evil world and much of today’s evil occurs on the internet.

But our computers are not the only parts of our lives that need to be protected from evil. We read from the book of Proverbs – “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” Proverbs 4:23 NIV

The heart refers to our inner-most being. Some have said that the heart controls what we think, how we feel, and how we act. If that is true, then protecting our heart is very important. Solomon tells us that guarding our heart should be one of our top priorities. Literally his words tell us that we should intentionally protect ourselves from the enemy’s invasions. We should not assume that we will always be okay. We must do everything we can to keep ourselves safe.

Several years ago I decided that I wouldn’t use anti-virus software on my computer because it seemed to slow it down. For a long time I seemed to get by with my recklessness, that is until one day when a window suddenly popped up on my computer, encouraging me to update my software. The window looked so real that I assumed it was legitimate; therefore I clicked on the box that said DOWNLOAD NOW. Not only did I not update my computer software, I downloaded a terrible computer virus that completely took over my system. No matter what I tried to do, nothing seemed to help. Thankfully a friend of mine who is a computer expert, was able to remove the virus and get my laptop back in order. But it was no easy task. I can assure you that from that day forward – I have used antivirus software.

Solomon tells us that everything we do flows from out of our heart. Jesus confirmed this truth as well.

Matthew 12:34 …For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.  35 The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. ESV

One of the things that I am learning as a believer is that even the little things can sometimes have a great affect upon me. Recently I read that a 30-second commercial during the Super Bowl can cost over $5 million dollars. Why would someone pay so much for so little time? It’s because they know that a lot can be said in just a few seconds. One word can stir up sinful thoughts in our imagination. One image can linger in our minds for years. One simple suggestion from the Evil One can start us down a path to destruction. Therefore my brethren, above everything else you do today – make sure that you guard your heart.

Comments are closed.