Devotional: ‘Giant Hunting’

Standard

Joshua 15:14 And Caleb drove out from there the three sons of Anak, Sheshai and Ahiman and Talmai, the descendants of Anak. The Bible speaks of Caleb defeating the three sons of Anak: Sheshai and Ahiman and Talmai. It is interesting to note that these three names are the same names mentioned in the book of Numbers. Caleb defeated the very same giants that had frightened the Israelites forty years earlier.

As I read this story I find myself playing out the confrontation between Caleb and the giants. Did Caleb recognize them? Did they recognize Caleb? Let’s suppose for a moment that they did. If so, then all of their minds must have gone back to the time when they first encountered each other. Perhaps there had been a bit of confrontation between the two groups. Perhaps Joshua and Caleb were ready to take them right then, but the other ten spies were ready to run in fear. Perhaps the giants mocked the Israelite spies as the headed back across the Jordan.

If so, then we can be sure that all of this had stayed in Caleb’s mind. Perhaps he prayed often for the opportunity to return to the mountain and to encounter the giants once again. Caleb may have even introduced himself as he entered into the city. “Hey guys, do you remember an incident many years ago when twelve men came to your city? You mocked them and ran them off. Well I want you to know that I was one of those twelve men and that I’ve returned to claim what is rightfully mine. This time it’s your turn to run.” The giants probably laughed at the old man and determined to do to him what they had done to the others forty years earlier. But this time no one ran. This time Caleb was not with a group of men who were full of fear. This time Caleb was with a group of men full of faith. The Bible says that as Caleb fought the giants, he took possession their land.

At the beginning of this week’s study I said that giants will hang around as long as we let them. In order to help you defeat your giants, I want to leave you today with some promises from the Word of God. I pray that one of these verses will be the sword you will use to defeat your giants.

“I will praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” (Psalm 139:14)

“God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’” (Hebrews 13:5)

“If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31)

“I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13)

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”(1 John 1:9)

“As far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.” (Psalm 103:12)

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future,… will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39)

Comments are closed.