Devotional: ‘I’m Standing on the Promises of God’

Standard

Joshua 14:10 And now, behold, the Lord has kept me alive, just as he said, these forty-five years since the time that the Lord spoke this word to Moses, while Israel walked in the wilderness. And now, behold, I am this day eighty-five years old. 11 I am still as strong today as I was in the day that Moses sent me; my strength now is as my strength was then, for war and for going and coming. 12 So now give me this hill country of which the Lord spoke on that day, for you heard on that day how the Anakim were there, with great fortified cities. It may be that the Lord will be with me, and I shall drive them out just as the Lord said.”

I marvel at a man Caleb’s age still being so courageous. Many would say that age eighty-five is too old for someone to be fighting giants and conquering mountains. Yet Caleb believed that God had a special purpose for his life and he determined to fulfill that purpose.

One wonders what Joshua must have thought as Caleb approached him and asked for the mountain. Perhaps Joshua said, “I know you’ve always been a tough man Caleb, but don’t you think that at age eighty-five, you ought to be letting someone else fight the battles?” Yet Caleb was ready to defend his cause. As he spoke to Joshua about the mountain he said – “Behold, the Lord has kept me alive, just as he said, these forty-five years since the time that the Lord spoke this word to Moses, while Israel walked in the wilderness.” Caleb believed that God had preserved him so that he might finish the task that should have been finished forty-five years earlier. To fully understand what Caleb was saying, we must go back to the time when the twelve spies first entered the land.

The Bible says that the spies first gave a report concerning the land’s fruitfulness. With them they had one cluster of grapes so large it took two men to carry it! But then ten of the spies said – “However, the people who dwell in the land are strong, and the cities are fortified and very large. And besides, we saw the descendants of Anak (giants) there…’ (Numbers 13:27) It was indeed a land flowing with milk and honey, yet it was also a land filled with giants. But then we read of Caleb – “But Caleb quieted the people before Moses and said, “Let us go up at once and occupy it, for we are well able to overcome it.” (Numbers 13:30) In Caleb’s mind, the giants could be conquered because the Lord had promised to help them.

Eventually the people sided with the fearful spies and pleaded to go back to Egypt. In response, the Lord condemned them to wander in the wilderness for forty years. (One year for each day they had witnessed His goodness but failed to believe) Only Joshua and Caleb survived the years of wandering in the wilderness. All the rest of the spies died somewhere along the way. Now, forty years later, Caleb was ready to go back and claim what God had promised.

Numbers 14:24 But my servant Caleb, because he has a different spirit and has followed me fully, I will bring into the land into which he went, and his descendants shall possess it.”

Standing on the Promises of God
Standing on the promises that cannot fail
When the howling storms of doubt and fear assail,
By the living Word of God I shall prevail
Standing on the promises of God.

Standing, standing,
Standing on the promises of God my Savior;
Standing, standing,
I’m standing on the promises of God.

Comments are closed.