Devotional: ‘Are You a Type A or Type B Personality?’

Standard

I’m sure that some of you are familiar with the terms – Type A and Type B Personality. Even if you’re not familiar with the terms, I’m sure that you’re familiar with people who have them.

Type A Personalities are often described as those who are more competitive, outgoing, ambitious, impatient and/or aggressive. Such individuals are sometimes workaholics and love to achieve. They can also have a difficult time relaxing. It pains me to say it, but I’m a Type A Personality.

In contrast to the Type A Personality is the Type B Personality. Someone with a Type B Personality is often more laid back and easy-going than a Type A Personality. Most Type B’s are also not as worried about what happens and therefore live with a lower level of stress. I’ve also read that they are often creative and enjoy exploring new ideas.

Regardless of whether we are a Type A or a Type B Personality, we need to know the Lord has made us to be who we are.

Psalm 139:13 For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. 14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. ESV

Not only has God made us with different personalities, He has given us different spiritual gifts that correlate with our temperament and personality. The Bible teaches us that whereas some with a Type B Personality may have the spiritual gifts of Helping and Serving, others with a Type A Personality may have the spiritual gifts of Leading and Administration.

The question is not so much –“What type of personality or what kinds of spiritual gifts has God given to me?”, but rather – “Is God in control of my personality and spiritual gifts?” “Is God able to use me the way He has designed me?”

In closing, consider these words from a classic Type A Personality named the Apostle Paul.

1 Corinthians 12:4 Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit; 5 and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; 6 and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone. 7 To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good. ESV

Each of us (whether Type A or Type B) are who we are for the common good of all.

Comments are closed.