Devotional: ‘God Will Always Be Right Beside Us’

Standard

Joshua 3:6 And Joshua said to the priests, “Take up the Ark of the Covenant and pass on before the people.” So they took up the Ark of the Covenant and went before the people. 7 The Lord said to Joshua, “Today I will begin to exalt you in the sight of all Israel, that they may know that, as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. ESV

Many of you know that my life verse is Hebrews 11:6 ‘But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.’ What is faith? Faith is confidence that causes us to trust. Therefore, Hebrews 11:6 could be read as – ‘Without confidence in God, it is impossible to please God, for God will reward the person who puts their trust in Him.’

I read a story one day that blessed my heart. Many of you have heard of John and Charles Wesley. Charles Wesley wrote many of the hymns we sing and John was known for his preaching. It is recorded that Charles sometimes said, ‘If the Lord would give me wings, I’d fly.’ Whenever Charles said this, John would reply, ‘If God bids me fly, I will trust Him for the wings.’ I like that! If the Lord tells me to fly, I’ll trust Him to give me the wings!

What kept the children of Israel from entering into the Promised Land forty years earlier? We might say that it was their fear of the giants, but in reality it was their lack of faith in God. In order for the Lord to bless them, He had to bring them to the point of where they had total confidence in Him. How would the Lord develop this confidence? He could have given them a smooth road to travel and thus teach them about His goodness. But instead He gave them a raging river and promised to help them cross it.

Joshua 3:9 And Joshua said to the people of Israel, “Come here and listen to the words of the Lord your God.” 10 And Joshua said, “Here is how you shall know that the living God is among you and that he will without fail drive out from before you the Canaanites, the Hittites, the Hivites, the Perizzites, the Girgashites, the Amorites, and the Jebusites. 11 Behold, the Ark of the Covenant of the Lord of all the earth is passing over before you into the Jordan… 13 And when the soles of the feet of the priests bearing the ark of the Lord, the Lord of all the earth, shall rest in the waters of the Jordan, the waters of the Jordan shall be cut off from flowing, and the waters coming down from above shall stand in one heap.” ESV

It encourages me to know that God will always go before me into every situation in life, and that while I am there, He will be right beside me.

Comments are closed.