Devotional: ‘It is Time for Us to Trust God’

Standard

Joshua 1:10 And Joshua commanded the officers of the people, 11 “Pass through the midst of the camp and command the people, ‘Prepare your provisions, for within three days you are to pass over this Jordan to go in to take possession of the land that the Lord your God is giving you to possess.’” ESV

The Lord has laid upon my heart to lead us in a study of the book of Joshua. This thought was first placed upon my heart by an email sent to me from one of our church members. This email focused on one verse of scripture from the book of Joshua – “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” (Josh 1:9 ESV) In this email my friend said –

“I’ve had Joshua 1:9 posted on my computer for about a month now. And I’ve read this verse a gazillion times over the last 30 days. I always seem to skip over the first few words and go right into “Be strong and of good courage”…..HOWEVER; now I’ve finally stopped and actually read the “Have I not COMMANDED you? He doesn’t say TRY to be strong, DO YOUR BEST to be strong, or ACT like you are strong. He is actually TELLING me — it is not an option to be strong and of good courage – it’s a command because He promises to be with me every step of the way! WOW!!”

Joshua had been with the twelve spies as they investigated the land. He had seen the fear that filled the people when they first heard of the giants. He had wandered with his fellow Jews for forty years in the wilderness. He had been through it all and now he had been chosen to lead the children of Israel in the conquest of the land. He had been at this doorstep before and he knew full well the cost that came with failing to trust God. Therefore Joshua was ready to step out in faith and to claim God’s promises. ‘Prepare your provisions, for within three days you are to pass over this Jordan to go in to take possession of the land that the Lord your God is giving you to possess.’

As I bring this first week of study to a close, I want to leave us with some important promises found in the pages of God’s Word:

Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. Josh. 1:9

There is no want to them that fear him. They that seek the LORD shall not want any good thing. (Ps 34:9, 10)

The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe. Pr 18:10

I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety. Ps 4:8

I can do all this through him who gives me strength. Php 4:13

He will be our guide even unto death. Ps 48:14

For them that honour me I will honour. 1 Sam 2:30

And thou shalt rejoice in every good thing which the LORD thy God hath given unto thee, and unto thine house. Deut 26:11

Comments are closed.