Devotional: ‘I Surrender All’

Standard

A century ago a man by the name of Judson De Venter wrote a hymn entitled – “I Surrender All.” Here is the first stanza–

All to Jesus, I surrender;
All to Him I freely give;
I will ever love and trust Him,
In His presence daily live.

I surrender all, I surrender all,
All to Thee, my blessed Savior,
I surrender all.

How much better our lives would be if we would but seek to live out these words. The Apostle Paul had this in mind when he wrote –

Romans 12:1 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. 2 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

The sacrifice Paul is speaking of is not a sacrifice for sin. The Bible says – “When sins have been forgiven, there is no need to offer any more sacrifices.” (Hebrews 10:18) There is nothing that you and I need to do in order to complete our redemption. Jesus said on the cross, “It is finished”, and by that He meant – “I have done everything that was necessary in order for God to be just in granting full forgiveness to those who are sinful.” God’s gracious plan of salvation is done; it is completed; it is finished.

What then is the sacrifice that Paul speaks of? It is the sacrifice of service. Present your life to God for Him to use for His glory. Or in other words – lay down your will so that God might accomplish His will both in and through you.

I surrender all, I surrender all,
All to Thee, my blessed Savior,
I surrender all.

Comments are closed.