Devotional: ‘The Spiritual Discipline of Walking’

Standard

The Apostle Paul loved to use the analogy of walking to help describe the Christian life. For instance, to the church at Rome, he spoke of ‘walking in the newness of life.’ (Rom 6:4) To the Corinthians, he referred to ‘walking by faith and not by sight.’ (2 Cor 5:7) And to the Colossians, he made mention of ‘walking worthy of the Lord.’ (Col 1:10)

Perhaps Paul loved this analogy because walking is something that is very practical. Though man has developed many means of transportation, walking still remains his primary method of moving from one place to the next. Each and every day you and I literally take thousands of physical steps. So it is with our Christian walk as well. Though there are some spiritual moments in our lives that are monumental, much of our Christianity is made up of a million little steps. In many ways, each and every decision you and I make is another step that is either taking us closer to God, or farther away.

Perhaps Paul loved this analogy because walking is something that is very personal. Every time you and I walk we have to decide: ‘How fast will I walk? In which direction will I walk? Will I continue to walk long enough to get me where I need to go?’ So it is with our Christian walk as well. ‘Will I walk with the Lord today? At what pace will I walk with Him? Will I continue to walk with Him throughout my lifetime?’ I find it interesting that often when Jesus called someone to become one of His disciples, He simply said – “Follow Me.” At that moment that individual had to decide whether or not they would leave wherever they were and walk with Jesus.

Perhaps Paul loved this analogy because walking is something that is very productive. Though walking requires us to take many individual steps, it still has the ability to take us to where we need to go. Whether it’s across the room or across the world, if we consistently take enough steps in the right direction, we will eventually end up at our desired destination. So it is with our Christianity as well. If you and I take enough steps in the right direction each day, we will eventually reach the destination of Christ-likeness.

 

Comments are closed.