Devotional: ‘The Eternal God is Thy Refuge’

Standard

“The eternal God is thy refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms:…” Deuteronomy 33:27

Perhaps one of the greatest blessings I have received from my walk with God is to learn that He desires to be my refuge. “The eternal God is thy refuge, and underneath are His everlasting arms.”

For forty years Moses had tried to lead the stubborn people of Israel.  Now, near the end of his life, he wanted to leave them with something that would perhaps finally help them to realize how blessed they were to have God on their side. Consider some of the wonderful truths that verse teaches us-

1) There’s not a need that we can’t share

There are parts of my life that I don’t share with anyone other than God. For instance, there are thoughts and feelings that I sometimes have that I know aren’t right and I know that God knows they’re not right. But I also know that God chose to love me while I was still a sinner. (Rom 5:8) As the song says, “God looked beyond my faults and saw my needs.” Therefore I feel comfortable to share with God even my sins and failures. God’s on my side!

There are dreams that I have had they may never come true. But that’s OK. It’s been a blessing to know that I have been able to dream with God.

There have been disappointments that I have experienced, and times when I have cried all alone; yet it’s been a tremendous comfort to know that God has always been with me and that He cares.

Paul told us to be anxious about nothing but to share everything about our life with God. God is our refuge and there’s not a need that with Him we can’t share.

2) There’s not a moment He’s not there

Elijah mocked the prophets of Baal when their cries and cuttings availed nothing.  “Perhaps he is in deep thought, or busy, or traveling”, Elijah taunted them. “Maybe he is sleeping and must be awakened!” And so they shouter louder and slashed themselves more fiercely. (1 Kings 18) Yet, even after all their efforts, their god never responded.

Yet our God is never too busy to attend to our needs. Psalms 121:3, “…He that keepeth thee will not slumber.” God never sleeps, nor is He ever away on a business trip. He is an ever present help in time of trouble.

3) There’s not a load He can’t bear

Underneath us are the everlasting arms of God. How strong are the arms of God? What weight can they bear? God’s arms will never lose their power or strength. They will always be able the burdens that come into our lives.

A few years ago there was a friend of mine who was going through a severe trial. Wanting to minister to them, I gave them a book written by someone who had experienced something very similar. The friend kept thanking me for the book until I finally told them that the Lord had laid it on my heart years before that to buy that book and all this time it had been sitting on my shelf. At times I intended to use it as a reference for a series of messages, but I had never had an open door from the Lord to do so. And then suddenly one day the Lord reminded me of the book and placed in my heart to lend it to my friend. What an amazing God we serve. Long before I even knew this person, the Lord had used me to buy something that they would need.

“The eternal God is thy refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms:…” Deuteronomy 33:27

Comments are closed.