Devotional: ‘Though My World Falls Apart, I Will Not Be Afraid’

Standard

“Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.”  (Psalm 46:2-3)

How could anyone not be in distress when their world is falling apart? How could they not fear when the waters around them are churning with trouble? It’s not reasonable to think that they could find peace when there seems to be nothing but pain. Yet David said – “Though my world falls apart, I will not be afraid.”

Did David know something that we need to know? Notice what he wrote in some of his psalms.

“The Lord is my shepherd…” (Ps 23)

“In the LORD put I my trust…” (Ps 11:1)

“The LORD hear thee in the day of trouble; the name of the God of Jacob defend thee…” (Ps 20:1) 

David’s confidence came through his relationship with God. Consider our psalm for today. “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” (vs. 1)

I won’t pretend to have all the answers. There is much about God and life that I still need to learn. But as I go through life, both as an individual, and as a pastor, I am beginning to see something that is very important. God doesn’t always protect us “from” trouble, but He has always promised His presence “during” our trouble.

“…though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof – we will not fear!”  Why? It is because – “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”

Comments are closed.