Devotional: ‘Learn to Let God be God’

Standard

Do you ever find yourself discouraged and disappointed with life? Are you ever discouraged and disappointed with God? None of us would openly admit our frustration with God, yet perhaps if we were honest, we would have to admit that there are times when we are displeased with His involvement in our lives. Try as we may, we just can’t force God to do our will.

The Old Testament character Job is a perfect example.

Job 1:1 There was a man named Job who lived in the land of Uz. He was blameless, a man of complete integrity. He feared God and stayed away from evil. NLT

The Bible calls Job a ‘blameless man of complete integrity.’ Yet, if you have ever read the book of Job, you know that within a few chapters his world begins to fall apart and he finds himself filled with bitter disillusionment.

Job 10:1 “I am disgusted with my life. Let me complain freely. I will speak in the bitterness of my soul. 2 I will say to God, ‘Don’t simply condemn me — tell me the charge you are bringing against me. 3 What do you gain by oppressing me? Why do you reject me, the work of your own hands, while sending joy and prosperity to the wicked? 4 Are your eyes only those of a human? Do you see things as people see them? 5 Is your lifetime merely human? Is your life so short 6 that you are in a hurry to probe for my guilt, to search for my sin? 7 Although you know I am not guilty, no one can rescue me from your power. NLT

Job became very discouraged over the circumstances of his life. In fact, he began to insinuate that God was perhaps receiving some kind of pleasure out of torturing him. But then the Lord spoke up and asked Job an important question –

Job 38:1 Then the LORD answered Job from the whirlwind: 2 “Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorant words?

“Who are you to question My authority?” Though there may be many things in life that we do not understand, we must always remember that God is God and we are not. The Lord said to Job –

3 Brace yourself, because I have some questions for you, and you must answer them. 4 “Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? Tell me, if you know so much.  NLT

Who are we to question God’s authority? Who are we in comparison to the Almighty who created all there is for His own glory and pleasure? We read from the book of Colossians – “For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together.” (Colossians 1:16-17 ESV)  Everything was created by God and for God and He is the one who holds it all together.

Rather than question God’s wisdom and authority, we must learn to submit our lives completely to Him. God is not our enemy. He is our Maker. He is the one who sustains us. He is our great God.

How Great is Our God
The splendor of the King
Clothed in majesty
Let all the earth rejoice
All the earth rejoice

He wraps himself in Light
And darkness tries to hide
And trembles at His voice
Trembles at His voice

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God, and all will see
How great, how great is our God

Age to age He stands
And time is in His hands
Beginning and the end
Beginning and the end

The Godhead Three in One
Father Spirit Son
The Lion and the Lamb
The Lion and the Lamb

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God, and all will see
How great, how great is our God
(Chris Tomlin)

Comments are closed.