Devotional: ‘The Value of Contentment’

Standard

1 Timothy 6:6 Yet true religion with contentment is great wealth. 7 After all, we didn’t bring anything with us when we came into the world, and we certainly cannot carry anything with us when we die. 8 So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content.

9 But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction. 10 For the love of money is at the root of all kinds of evil. And some people, craving money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows. NLT

What would it take to make you happy? A better job? A larger house? A newer car or even better health? All of these things are good and can bring us momentary pleasure; however, if we are depending upon anything other than our personal relationship with Christ to help us enjoy life, we are destined to eventually become discouraged and disillusioned. Even if we have the greatest job in all the world, someday we will have to retire. With the pleasure of many possessions comes maintenance and depreciation. Even our health is susceptible to sickness and aging. Only God is eternal and unchangeable; therefore, only God can bring us lasting satisfaction.

One of my favorite songs is – “I’d Rather Have Jesus.” Consider these words –

I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold;
I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
I’d rather have Jesus than houses or lands;
I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hand

I’d rather have Jesus than men’s applause;
I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause;
I’d rather have Jesus than worldwide fame;
I’d rather be true to His holy name

Than to be the king of a vast domain
And be held in sin’s dread sway;
I’d rather have Jesus than anything
This world affords today.
(Rhea F. Miller)

Comments are closed.