‘Be Thankful and Bless His Holy Name’

Standard

Psalm 103:1 Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name! 2 Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, 3 who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, 4 who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, 5 who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. ESV

Sometimes I find myself guilty of being a ‘taker’ and not a ‘giver.’ By that I mean it is easy for me to receive God’s blessings, yet fail to give Him the praise and thanksgiving that He is due. In today’s passage of scripture the psalmist warns us about such sins. “Bless the Lord, O my soul…and forget not all his benefits.”

First, we are warned to never take for granted God’s bountiful blessings. “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits…” Has God been good to you? Has He blessed you? Has He provided your daily bread and given you a roof for shelter? Has He given you even more than what you need? Has He filled your barns with plenty? I am sure that He has, for I know that He has done so for me. Though you and I may not be one of the world’s richest people, God has graciously provided everything that we need. The psalmist says – “who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.”

Secondly, we are warned to never take for granted God’s gracious forgiveness. “…who forgives all your iniquity” Iniquity is another word for sin. The Bible says that we all have sinned and fallen short of God’s glory. (see Rom 3:23) We read also that there is none of us who are righteous in and of ourselves – no not one. (see Rom 3:10) Though we are all are sinful in the sight of God, He has made a way for us to be graciously forgiven. The Bible says – “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9 ESV)

Thirdly, we are warned to never take for granted God’s rescue from danger. “Who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy…” The ‘diseases’ the psalmist speaks of could refer to certain sicknesses that afflict our bodies. Yet it seems that the psalmist was also thinking of the various dangers in life. Note that he refers to those who have been rescued from the pit. Perhaps it will not be until we are in heaven that we will fully realize the many times God rescued us from some danger. Those delays along the way were not useless inconveniences, but rather God’s hand of protection.

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name! Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits…” As we begin this new day let us take time to bless the One who blesses us.

Comments are closed.