‘The Word of God’

Standard

What would you consider to be the most important influence upon your life? I am sure that most of would say that it is our personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Without a doubt, knowing God and doing His will should be our number one priority in our lives.

How can we know God in a deeper way? Although God may use a variety of means to communicate with us, His primary method is His Word. Perhaps that is why the Bible is so often attacked.

Genesis 3:1 Now the serpent was the shrewdest of all the creatures the LORD God had made. “Really?” he asked the woman. “Did God really say you must not eat any of the fruit in the garden?” 2 “Of course we may eat it,” the woman told him. 3 “It’s only the fruit from the tree at the center of the garden that we are not allowed to eat. God says we must not eat it or even touch it, or we will die.” 4 “You won’t die!” the serpent hissed. 5 “God knows that your eyes will be opened when you eat it. You will become just like God, knowing everything, both good and evil.”

Since the beginning of time, Satan has tried to cause us to question the authority of scripture. To do so, he has led many to believe:

  • The Bible is not really the inspired Word of God, but rather a man-made book.
  • The Bible is not reliable. There are errors in the Bible.
  • The Bible is not God’s complete revelation. There are other documents and spiritual leaders that carry as much weight as the Bible.
  • The Bible is not relevant. It’s an old, outdated piece of history.

Over the next several days I would like for us to consider several important truths about the Word of God. My hope is that by doing so, each of us will not only be convinced that the Bible is indeed the infallible Word of God, but also, we will be motivated to spend more time studying it. Consider what we read from Psalm 119-

Psalm 119:9 How can a young person stay pure? By obeying your word and following its rules. 10 I have tried my best to find you — don’t let me wander from your commands. 11 I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. 12 Blessed are you, O LORD; teach me your principles. 13 I have recited aloud all the laws you have given us. 14 I have rejoiced in your decrees as much as in riches. 15 I will study your commandments and reflect on your ways. 16 I will delight in your principles and not forget your word.

John MacArthur states in his study Bible – “This book contains the mind of God, the state of man, the way of salvation, the doom of sinners, and the happiness of believers. Read it to be wise, believe it to be saved, and practice it to be holy.”

Comments are closed.